Uncategorized

The Presidential Election and Winner

As most you probably know the presidential elections recently happened and so I would like to give my opinion on it and the winner.

The main party candidates of the election are Donald Trump(Republican), Hillary Clinton(Democratic) and Gary Johnson(Libertarian). The two main candidates that people voted for were Hillary and Donald. Now in my opinion I don’t like either of these two, they both have personalities that I don’t like, as well as policies that I don’t like. Donald Trump has made many crazy campaign promises, like building a wall between mexico and the U.S, or banning all Muslims from the country. Me being a Muslim I do not like that promise but I don’t think he will follow through with it, because he will get tremendous backlash from many countries around the world. Although I do not see Hillary as any better, for example she has changed her mind on many topics, like gay marriage, Iraq war, TPP, the Keystone XL Pipeline. They both have done things that should have discouraged people from voting for them.

23431174293-12118756376

The other reason I don’t like them is because of the scandals that have come out against them. Donald Trump has had many scandals about him saying and doing vulgar things to women. Although Hillary Clinton also had a scandal about emails that were released concerning U.S national security and other economical statistics. Although I think that even if these scandals didn’t happen, I still would have not liked them.

After U.S citizens voted, we were told that the 45th U.S president is Donald Trump. What do I think about this? I believe that all we can do is hope that Donald Trump as president will be something like he was at his victory speech, where he thanked Hillary Clinton and seemed genuinely concerned about the divide out into the american people. I can’t say that he will be a good president because I don’t know but we can at least give him a chance to prove that he is a valid president. The thing that bothers me now is that the divide between the american people is so deep that there are attacks from democrats on republics, and vice-versa. The people who voted for Hillary Clinton still strongly support her even after her loss and they still go against Trump. There were even protests trying to get Trump out of office. It just goes to show you that the divide that was put between them will take some serious work before it is fixed. Although there was a statement made by a political adviser, that after this election, the elections won’t be the same again, and that is completely true, they both have showed how talking bad about the other made some people wan to vote for them more. One of the reasons people voted for Trump is because they liked his crazy and non-predictable behavior.

 

 

I don’t believe that I have any sort of political knowledge to make a decision about who should have won or if Donald Trump will run the U.S into the ground, I mean I’m Canadian, so I don’t know too much about U.S politics but I do know that we just gave the most influential country in he world in the hands of a man that may not be cable of handling it. So I’m just praying for the best.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Presidential Election and Winner

  1. Nizaam, could you add some images and links to this post. If you do, I’d also like to ask your permission to share this on my Twitter feed to see if you can get some comments. I think it was a really well written post.

    I too hope that he will act more like he did in his victory speech. I hope that he can act in a presidential manner and get the country moving forward (as opposed to backwards). The divide that seems to be occurring within the country is a little scary. I also agree that the two candidates were terrible choices. It’s hard to believe that in a country of over 300 million that those were the two candidates. I’m just happy I didn’t have to vote for them.

    Like

Leave a comment